I have big news for you all. Groundbreaking news for some of you. Sherbet is pronounced SHER-BET, not SHER-BERT. There's no r! Am I the only one who finds this absolutely shocking? My housemates were talking about sherbet the other day and I (rather condescendingly, I hate to add) laughed and told them they were pronouncing it wrong. Little did I know that for 20 years I had been saying the wrong thing. Now I am left with a dilemma. Do I say sherbert or sherbet? On the one hand, I will sound ridiculous saying sherbert, but I feel untrue to myself saying sherbet. Are you as shocked as I am, or am I the only one who imagined the r?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comments:
So....
I knew that proper way to say it was without an R. And I always have known this little factoid. But does that stop me from adding the much loved letter? Absolutely not.
Say it loud and say it proud.
sherbeRt!
Post a Comment